ProCom Faculty & Alumni Recognized at Ryerson Awards

Each year Ryerson University hosts the Ryerson Awards Night to recognize employees for their achievements in teaching, research, administration, service and leadership. This year, three Master of Professional Communication (MPC) alumnae and faculty members from the School of Professional Communication (ProCom) were among the award recipients.

The former MPC students were bestowed  the Julia Hanigsberg Make Your Mark Staff Award, given to Ryerson employees for their exemplary efforts in client service, community engagement, innovation, and/or sustainability.

Jiwon Bang (MPC 2012) and Lee Chapman (MPC 2014) were acknowledged for their contributions to the Ryerson University Lifeline Syria Challenge Team (RULSC). The RULSC came together to create 75 teams to sponsor 75 Syrian refugee families in Canada and have already assisted 15 families. Visit Lifeline Syria Challenge to learn more about program efforts.

Emily MacIntosh (MPC 2013) was awarded as a member of the Take Our Kids to Work Day committee. Take Our Kids to Work Day occurs yearly and is an opportunity for parents to bring their children to work for the day to allow them to explore the work their parents do and learn about the careers available to them.

In addition to the alumnae identified above, three ProCom faculty members were also recognized for their continued dedication and passion to the program. Dr. Catherine Schryer, ProCom Chair, received the Errol Aspevig Award for Outstanding Academic Leadership; Dr. Wendy Freeman, former Director of the MPC, was presented with the YSGS Outstanding Contribution to Graduate Education Award; Dr. John Shiga, current MPC Director, received the Dean’s Teaching Award for his innovative teaching.

Congratulations to everyone! Read more information about the 2017 Ryerson Awards Night.